Native & Naturalized Plants of the Carolinas and Georgia

Search by scientific name

OR search by...

The Photographs

For the most part, the goal of the photographs on this site is to highlight a particular plant or feature. Occasionally, they may just celebrate its beauty....

The photographs remain the property of the photographers, who have agreed that pictures downloaded from this site may be used for non-profit, educational purposes provided proper credit is given to the photographer.
For any other use, for higher resolution images, or for other photographs, please contact the photographer directly.

To see a list of plants that are in serious need of photographs, click here!

Contributing Photographers:

Timothy Lee
South Carolina Parks Service
tlee@scprt.com

Don Lewis
Friends of Firefly Forest: Blue Ghost Fireflies
lewisdon@bellsouth.net

Susan Lochridge
needlespirits@charter.net

JK Marlow
webmaster@namethatplant.net
www.cnpa.org/show_gallery.php?order=name&id=1166

Steve Marlow
steve@MarlowCreativeServices.com

Roxanna Martin
RMartin@spartanburg4.org

Patrick D. McMillan
Forestry and Environmental Conservation Department, Clemson University
Director of the SC Botanical Garden
pmcmill@clemson.edu

Dale McSwain
isptrader@gmail.com

Larry Mellichamp
University of North Carolina / UNC Charlotte Botanical Gardens
lmellichamp@carolina.rr.com

Gordon Murphy
South Carolina Association of Naturalists
agmurphy@hughes.net

Mark A. Musselman
Audubon Center at the Francis Beidler Forest
mmusselman@audubon.org

Craig Myers
salrwy@mac.com

John B. Nelson
Department of Biological Sciences, University of South Carolina
Flickr: Just Back's photostream
nelson@sc.edu

Gill Newberry
Department of Biology, University of South Carolina, Upstate
gnewberry@charter.net

Teri Nye
TeriNye.com: Illustration, Photography & Design
tnye@terinye.com

Carrie Hannah Penn
Stone Mountain Memorial Association
hannah2@uga.edu

Greg Peters
peters5369@gmail.com

Glen Peterson
glen@organicdesign.org

Jim Petranka
petranka@unca.edu

Ed Pivorun
ebpvr@clemson.edu

Eva Pratt
evaoncompton@gmail.com

Sam Pratt
evaoncompton@gmail.com

Emily B. Sessa
Department of Biology, University of Florida
No seed, no fruits, no flowers, no problem!
emilysessa@ufl.edu

Bill Sharpton
Treehugger Images
www.treehuggerimages.com
GSharpton@aol.com

Timothy Spira
Department of Biological Sciences, Clemson University
Author of Wildflowers and Plant Communities of the Southern Appalachian Mountains and Piedmont
stimoth@clemson.edu

Marian StClair
marian.stclair@gmail.com

Mike Strickland
http://georgianatives.net/
livinwell@georgianatives.net

Bill Stringer
Department of Entomology, Soils and Plant Sciences, Clemson University
bstrngr@clemson.edu

Will Stuart
Flickr: Will Stuart
willstuart2001@earthlink.net

Zen Sutherland
Zen Sutherland Photography
Flickr: Zen Sutherland's photostream
fotozen@charter.net

Paul Thompson
Clemson University Extension Service, York County
pthmpsn@exchange.clemson.edu

B. Joanna Thurman
bosunberrybiscuit@gmail.com

Pam Torlina
Conserving Carolina
Pam@carolinamountain.org

Lisa Wagner
South Carolina Botanical Garden
lwagner@clemson.edu

Richard & Teresa Ware
Georgia Botanical Society
gabotany@comcast.net

Dan Whitten
sdwhit10@aol.com

Rusty Wilson
fwlsn@clemson.edu

Kevin Adams
Kevin Adams Photography
Author of North Carolina's Best Wildflower Hikes: The Mountains
kevin@kadamsphoto.com

Arleigh Birchler
Distinctly Carolina Plants
arleigh.birchler@yahoo.com

Keith Bradley
Botanist/Conservation Biologist
https://www.flickr.com/people/35605280@N05/
linaceae@gmail.com

Frank Breazeale
Pendleton, SC

Frank Bridges
fabfab@att.net

Jerry Bright
http://picasaweb.google.com/jerrybright
jerrybright@gmail.com

Pat Bright
http://picasaweb.google.com/jerrybright
jerrybright@gmail.com

Mason Brock
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/User:Masebrock
mbrock2@my.apsu.edu

Bugwood.org
The University of Georgia Center for Invasive Species and Ecosystem Health

Karen Burnett
karen.burnett@scnps.org

Wesley Burnett
burnettm@mindspring.com

John Cely
SC Department of Natural Resources
& Congaree Land Trust
cowasee@gmail.com

Margaret Cirtain
Department of Biological Sciences, University of South Carolina
cirtain@mailbox.sc.edu

Diane Creaton
dicreaton@yahoo.com

Alan Cressler
Flickr: Alan Cressler
alan.cressler@gmail.com

Harry Davis
Flickr: Harry Davis's photostream
harry.davis@scnps.org

Sonny Eppes
ceppes@aol.com

Jean Everett
Department of Biology, College of Charleston
EverettJ@cofc.edu

Jim Fanning
sybjim@msn.com

Jim Fowler
Jim Fowler Photography
Author of Wild Orchids of South Carolina: a Popular Natural History
Flickr: Jim Fowler's photostream
JimStamp@aol.com

L.L. (Chick) Gaddy
terra incognita books
llgaddy@bellsouth.net

Terry Gentry
tmgentry@charter.net

Betsy George
betsy.george1950@gmail.com

Alistair Glen
Growing Wild Nursery
info@growingwildnursery.net

Judy Gordon
Department of Biology, Augusta State University
jgordon@aug.edu

Bob Griffeth
rmgriffeth@gmail.com

Jan Haldeman
Department of Biology, Erskine College
haldeman@erskine.edu

Terry Holdsclaw
holdsclaw@centurylink.net

Bobbie L. Holt
Intrinsic Images
holt424@bellsouth.net

Bob Howell
5jeeps@bellsouth.net

Sharon Howell
jasminrc@bellsouth.net

Rob Hunnings
rhunnings@charter.net

Gene Johnston
loner1986@gmail.com

Tom Jones
South Carolina Association of Naturalists
prestoea@gmail.com

Ben Geer Keys
Keys Natural Images
www.keysni.com
keysni@bellsouth.net

Anthony L. Koop
USDA - APHIS - PPQ
Anthony.L.Koop@aphis.usda.gov

Ron Lance
Author of Woody Plants of the Southeastern United States: A Winter Guide and
Haws: A Guide to Hawthorns of the Southeastern United States
ronwlance55@gmail.com

Bridget Lassiter
Weed Specialist, Plant Industry Division
N.C. Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services
bridget.lassiter@ncagr.gov

 

Search for images from

Eastern Red Maple

"After doing a whole lot of portraits I like to photograph the tree that doesn't talk back. I can be with the tree for hours and it doesn't ask me a single question." — Caroline Vaughan